Convict Nomination Committee meets at Port Arthur


The Convict Nomination Steering Committee praised the conservation work being undertaken by the Port Arthur Historic Site Management Authority as it met on the Site this week.

The meeting was chaired by Theo Hooy from the Department of the Environment, Water, Heritage and the Arts. Port Arthur and the Coal Mines Historic Sites were represented by Jane Harrington and Jo Lyngcoln.

The rest of the Tasmanian team included Scott Gadd and Melinda Percival from the Department, Jody Steele from PWS, Damien Saunders from Woolmers Estate, Louise Archer from Brickendon, and Shirley McCarron from the Cascades Female Factory.

After the meeting the group toured of the recently reopened Separate Prison, then on Tuesday morning Jo Lyngcoln took those who had stayed overnight on a tour of the Coal Mines Historic Site.

PAHSMA Director of Conservation and Infrastructure Jane Harrington was encouraged by the positive comments and feedback.

“The group was particularly impressed with the tour of the Coal Mines, which many had not previously visited,” she said.

“This is very valued praise, coming as it does from our colleagues who between them represent a range of significant convict sites from cross the country.”

This was the first time the group had met with an extended membership that included managers from each of the eleven sites included on the nomination.

Members of the Committee, pictured in the Separate Prison

Members of the Committee, pictured in the Separate Prison